A Native Bouquet

In August, I spent a weekend at a resort in the Poconos of Pennsylvania which hosts loads of family reunions and destination weddings. As our own family reunion drew to a close on a rainy Sunday, we huddled in the game room and spied on a lovely bride and groom saying their I do’s on the covered terrace. Okay, to be honest, the women and girls spied on the wedding, the boys were playing Wii. (Am I gender stereotyping?? Only reporting what I witnessed).

On our way to the car, we passed by the florist who was relocating the bridal bouquets from wedding to reception. There she stood in the rain with a card board box full of  nosegays made up of goldenrod and queen anne’s lace.  “How perfect,” I thought! “How weedy,” my husband thought. I know he thought that because his response to my effusing over the fabulous use of seasonal and native plants in a formal setting was, ” Don’t you find those flowers on the side of the road??”

Well, yes you do.

To be fair, I think my husband harbors an irrational aversion towards goldenrod. When I brought some in for a nice fall centerpiece, he asked me, “Aren’t you just putting allergens in a vase?” No appreciation of native beauty.

I first knew Queen Anne’s Lace at summer camp in Virginia where they grew like crazy in hot August next to the drainage ditches where the tractors couldn’t mow.  Goldenrod entered my lexicon when given me by a master gardener in my neighborhood. It now fills a lonely corner of my back garden, but I also now notice it lining Pennsylvania country roads in September, again, where mowing is impossible. But who cares that goldenrod grow on the roadside? It’s lovely!

So let me officially applaud that bold bride who got married in the rain carrying two of our most beautiful native plants.  Sometimes nature does know best.

9 responses to “A Native Bouquet

  1. I too applaud your bride with the goldenrod and Queen Anne’s Lace! Just because they are easy to grow and they seed themselves all over doesn’t make them any less pretty… in the right setting (i.e. not where I want other things to grow)!

  2. 3 cheers for the bride and also to you for patting her on the back. I love native flowers. Golden rod is so pretty along the hiking trails, signaling the beginning of a brand new season…

    • Hi Kate – I love it. It means fall is coming. And although most of it has faded around here by now, I still see a spike or two of goldenrod from time to time. (Which means fall is still here, thank goodness.)

  3. How wonderful of the bride ( and you) to appreciate what mother nature
    gives us in the wild. Gives me the idea to put somew native plants in my
    garden & see what nature does!!!

  4. I also happen to think goldenrod is so pretty!

    From my understanding, it’s not the goldenrod that is the bane of allergy sufferers, but another plant that blooms at the same time that the more showy goldenrod does.

  5. Okay, could care less about the goldenrod and queen anne’s lace…but nearly wet myself w/your husband’s “allergens in a vase” comment. Just another example of why you are regularly thought of.

  6. Oh Kelly, I love goldenrod and queen anne’s lace!!! That sounds like a beautiful bouquet. What flowers did you have in your wedding? Btw, tell your hubby that roses grow wild on road sides, too. Except queen anne’s lace has no thorns.

Leave a Reply

